Teaser Tuesday – January 10, 2017

I would like to thank @the purple booker for hosting this meme.

This week I wanted to share a series that I just started (and almost done with…sigh). The cover really grabbed me and the description of this book put it on my TBR list! This is a YA/Dystopian romance, but it has quite a few adult themes so reader beware. This book ended up being even better then the cover and I’ve really enjoyed the push and pull of the main characters. Check this book out here!

24384663

Description by Goodreads: In the future, the world is at war.

For the last decade, King Lazuli of the Eastern Empire has systematically taken over the world. No one knows much about him other than a series of impossible facts: he cannot die, he has not aged since the conflict began, and he wants to rule the world.

All Serenity Freeman has known is bloodshed. War has taken away her mother, her home, her safety. As the future emissary of the Western United Nations, the last autonomous region of the globe, she is responsible for forging alliances where she can.

Surrender is on the horizon. The king can taste it; Serenity feels it deep within her bones. There is no other option. Now the two must come face to face. For Serenity, that means confronting the man who’s taken everything from her. For the king, it means meeting the one woman he can’t conquer. But when they meet, something happens. Cruelty finds redemption.

Only in war, everything comes with a price. Especially love.

Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“It should never have been this way. My comrades turning on me, my enemies saving me. But worst of all, I should never have felt anything other than hatred for this man, the king, Definitely not this, this warmth that thaws my soul.
I stare into the king’s eyes. I am Isolde, I am Juliet, I am Guinevere.
I am every one of those idiots because I’ve fallen for the king.”  

“He still doesn’t seem to understand that repairing that which he broke doesn’t make it new again. It makes it scarred”  

“His eyes slink over me. “I forgot to tell you- you look lovely.”
Lovely. I want to laugh at his words. “You shouldn’t have bothered with the compliment,” I say, “I’m many things, and the least impressive of them is lovely.”

There are two more books in this series after this one:

2386734728448877

Happy Reading Lovelies,

XoXo

ebf0610408274aad2b62fbbdcc8e36eb

 

One thought on “Teaser Tuesday – January 10, 2017

Leave a Reply

